Search This Blog

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Seven Chakras of Kundalini Yoga

Aloha Everyone,
Chakra means wheel and it could be thought as energy vortex or energy centers. The Chakras are located along the spine starting from perinium to the top of your head, the 7 Chakras are root, sex (sacral), naval, heart, throat, 3rd eye and crown.  By doing pranayamas and asanas, cosmic energy can be transformed into spiritual energy.
We will be studying each of the 7 chakras and how they affect our health and how to unblock, to balance and heal them to maintain our mental, emotional and spiritual well being. Here us a brief explanation of the 7 Chakras and what personality traits and characteristics are associated with each of them.
First Chakra – Root Chakra (Mooladhara)  – relates to the Earth elements, controls sexual energy, helps you get grounded and balanced, and influences physical security & fear.  Element is Earth and color is red. Activating the root chakra also helps the vital organs of our body gives us the freedom to enjoy pure and simplicity of mind.  Location is at the base of spine in tailbone area.
Second Chakra – Sacral(Sex) Chakra (Swadhisthana) located at the lower abdomen approximately two inches below the navel.  This is the chakra of self expression, creativity and pure knowledge.  The second chakra  element is water and also influences your power of concentration. Element is water and color is orange.
Third Chakra  Naval Chakra (Manipura) located at the navel center.  The Manipura Chakra is the power center, and the element is fire and color is yellow..  Manipura Chakra influences your digestive systems, helps with will power.  If the Manipura Chakra is unbalanced, a person may experience fear, anger, aggression or even eating disorder.  Balancing this chakra, one will have self-respect, self esteem and physical and emotional balance.
Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra (Anahata) located at the center of the chest, right of the physical heart and influences circulatory and respiratory systems.   This chakra is associated with unconditional love, forgiveness and compassion.  The element is air and the color is green
Fifth Chakra – Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi) located at the throat, this chakra influences auditory and speech systems.  Activation of Vishuddhi Chakra influences communication, seat of intellectural awareness and freedom from ego.  The element is either and color is blue.
Sixth Chakra -  Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) located at the center of head, between the eye brows.  The Ajna Chakra influences communication and perception.When properly activated, Ajna Chakra develops spirituality and humanity.  All elements in their pure essence and color is indigo.
Seventh Chakra – Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) located on top of head.  Influences brain and nervous system.  Sahasrara chakra relates to pure consciousness.  When proper balance of the Sahasrara Chakra is achieved, the practioner will be able to experience a state of bliss, void of all other feelings including one’s needs, wants or any emotions. Like the Sixth Chakra, the Seventh Chakra has all elements in their pure essence.  Color is violet and white.
Namaste — Cathi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.