Search This Blog

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Nadis - Definition and Explanation

Aloha Everyone,

Nadis means “stream” or “movements” and they are a network of subtle channels of the body. Nadis connect at special energy centers or energy vortex in our body called chakras in which energy flows through. In Kundalini Yoga, a nadi means psychic passage of energy which can be compared with nerves in physical body. Tantra Yoga identifies fourteen principal nadis; the following three are most important nadis:

Sushumna – this is the central channel, passes through the spinal column.  Kundalini moves upwards running up the body from just below Muladhara (Root) Chakra to Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra at the top of the head.

Ida nadi is located on the left side of Shushumna and considered as the moon or lunar nadi.  The Ida nadi is white, feminine, cold, passive and physic energy and control mental processes of our personality.  The Ida nadi originates in Muladhara (Root) Chakra and ends in the left nostril. 

Pingala nadi is located on the right side of Shushumna and considered as the solar nadi. The Pingala nadi is red, masculine, active and hot physical energy. The Pingalai nadi originates in Muladhara (Root) Chakra and ends in the right nostril. 

One of the goals of yoga is balancing ida and pingala, the solar and lunar energies that are within us.  This then will allow the awakening of Kundalini which will lead to the awakening of the higher consciousness that is felt at the Sahasrara (Crown) or the Seventh Chakra.  In yoga, we are always looking for a balance between left and right side of the body as well as balance between left and right side of the brain.  When there is balance in the mind, between left and right hemispheres, between ida and pingala then there is also balance in the body. 

All balancing asanas which your attention is focused on your core muscles are helpful in balancing your body and the mind.  Here are some examples:

Garudasana (Eagle pose)
Vrikshasana (Tree pose)
Natarajasana (Dancer  pose)
Utkatasana (Chair Pose)
Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation)

Information on the Seven Chakras, please refer to my other chakra entries.

Namaste -- Cathi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.